World Superbikes 2011 Round #1 Phillip Island

Well its the start of the new season and my money is on Leon Camier to be up there fighting for podiums at every round. The man never ceases to amaze me – not only was he sick as a parrot for most this weekend’s racing downunder, but managed to nab 6th place in race 2…..

Alitalia Aprilia’s Leon Camier reckons he is shocked with the sixth place he nabbed on the final lap of Phillip Island’s second World Superbike race given he spent most of the week struck down with glandular fever.

Camier was unsure he’d even be able to finish a race over the week but, after changing tyres in between races, he found more pace in the second outing and leaves Australia just outside the top ten.

“I’m honestly shocked by today’s results, especially the second race. I just concentrated on keeping things steady and trying to get into a rhythm, not making any mistakes, and I managed to work my way through,” said Camier.

“I have never felt so ill and wasn’t even sure if I’d be able to finish, so to come away just outside the top ten of the Championship isn’t so bad. It’s frustrating to think what might have been if I wasn’t ill, but there’s no point dwelling on it. There’s a long season ahead of us and to see what we achieved today, even with my illness and limited track time, is definitely encouraging.

“I can’t really explain just how tired I’m feeling now. Luckily we’ve got four weeks before the round at Donington Park to try and get myself back to normal. I really want to thank everyone who has taken the time to send in messages of support this weekend. Hopefully I can repay you all at the next round.

“Before the second race we change the rear tyre and at the start I tried to ride calmly, looking for my pace and avoiding errors. Lap after lap the feeling got better and I climbed my way to sixth place. To say I was tired is an understatement, but if I think about the presuppositions I can consider myself quite satisfied.

“Without this illness things could have gone differently, but it doesn’t matter; now I need to lower my head and get to work – there is still a long season ahead.”

Leave a Reply

